Peter Backhaus

Peter Backhaus, Surrounded, mixed media, 145 x 122 cm, 1996

Peter Backhaus, Body with Blue Rectangle, Oil on Canvas, 83 x 70 cm, 2010

Peter Backhaus, Flowing, Oil on Canvas, 85 x 70 cm, 1990

Peter Backhaus, Upprising, Oil on Canvas, 83 x 100 cm, 2017

Peter Backhaus, Reflection, Oil on Canvas, 83 x 100 cm, 2019

Peter Backhaus, Blue Square, Oil on Canvas, 50 x 65 cm, 2015

Peter Backhaus, Energies, Oil on Canvas, 66 x 85 cm, 2019

Peter Backhaus, Homage to my teachers, Oil on canvas, 120 x 100 cm, 2019

Peter Backhaus, Triptychon no. 2, Gathering, oil on canvas, 200 x 150 cm , 2021

Peter Backhaus, Connected, Oil on canvas, 146 x 122 cm, 2019

”My art is uncompromising and direct. It is unique in its poetic, musical expression. The heart is its abode. It connects with the soul’s longing for freedom, co-creation and participatory commitment”.

Peter Backhaus was born in 1947 in Germany. In 1968 he emigrated to Sweden where he studied philosophy, psychology and art. In Gothenburg he had his own art school.

For Backhaus’ painting is survival. To keep sanity. Trauma Work. His paintings are internal images. They don’t tell about everyday life, temporary feelings or experiences from an external reality. They come from a level beyond time and space, beyond the personal ego, where complete stillness and total chaos coexist. They are like layers in the archetypal landscape, which are deep inside of each person regardless culture or color.

Backhaus’ art wants to unite differences and spread optimism regarding the human psyches ability to bring about change in the same way art has helped him to process his personal German history. His artwork has been shown in different Swedish and German galleries and museums. Since 2019, he is represented by Pashmin Art Gallery in Hamburg and has participated in numerous museum exhibitions in China.

Peter Backhaus lives and works in Gothenburg, Sweden and Berlin, Germany.